Good reads

Remember this post?Well, I stumbled upon two posts that somewhat echo the same sentiments. I’ll give you the links you can go check them out whenever you can.

A College Education, the Key to a Happy Life or Not?

by Chris Jordan

My oldest son is going to be a junior in high school this year. Already people have started asking where he is going to college, what he wants to study, what he wants to do with his life. His answer is always the same, “I don’t know,” followed by a shrug. Then they look at me.  I shrug.

I recently looked up my old university online. Over $60,000 a year. A YEAR.
 
Here is the thing, I don’t think everyone needs to go to college… (continue reading)

 

On Living a Good Story {And Maybe Why You Shouldn’t Try So Hard}

By Laura Parker

“So the question is, when the credits roll in your life, are people going to think your story sucked?” – donmilleris.com

There’s been a lot of talk about living a Good Story this past year.  I’ve read Donald Miller’s A Million Miles in a Thousand Years {and loved it}, which has been a catalyst for me in the idea that our lives are stories, played out in our years on earth.   And bloggers have written about it, and reviewers have reviewed about it, and one of my closest friends went to a conference about it, and the conversation has left me honestly questioning my own life lately.

Because sometimes I wonder if we {my husband Matt and I} have lived the dramatic story for the wrong reasons. And here’s my question– does a heroine spend the two-hours of the movie pursuing the most gloriously-dramatic film, or does a gloriously-dramatic film just naturally tumble out of her pursuit of more important things, like love, redemption, victory, the cure for cancer, that kind-of thing? (continue reading)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

